Skip to content

President Obama’s Second, Third and Fourth Inaugurations

January 22, 2013

Yesterday, President Obama was sworn in for the fourth time.


The first time was at his inauguration on January 20, 2009.  However, because of a flub of the oath by Supreme Court Chief Justice John Roberts, Jr., the oath was re-administered in a private ceremony the next day by Justice Roberts.


This year’s official Constitutional inauguration date of January 20th was on a Sunday, so the public ceremony and celebration was held on Monday, January 21st.  However, a private swearing in was held on Sunday January 20th.


Therefore, President Obama is the second president to have four inaugurations.  The first was Franklin Delano Roosevelt who had a separate inauguration for each of his four terms.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: